Technicians shortlisted for the Times Higher Education Awards 2022

By 29th September 2022 Blog, News

Nine technicians from across UK and Irish universities and institutions have been shortlisted for the 2022 Times Higher Education (THE) Awards.

The THE Awards exemplify the talent, innovation, and dedication of individuals and teams across several aspects of Higher Education (HE), attracting hundreds of entries each year.

The shortlist of entrees was announced at the beginning of the month, with nine technicians shortlisted for the ‘Outstanding Technician of the Year’ award. The nominees in this category are: Hong Lin, (University of Reading); Philip Davey, (University of Essex); Abigail Mortimer, (University of York); Russell Wilson, (Edinburgh Napier University and Heriot-Watt University); Gillian Riddell, (Queen’s University Belfast); Glyn Nelson, (Newcastle University); Tristan Canfer, (Science and Technology Facilities Council); Gemma Black, (University of Leicester); and James Fox-Robinson, (Durham University).

The award will go to an individual whose ‘exceptional practical skills, commitment and vision have enabled the highest quality teaching, research or knowledge transfer.’

A panel of 18 judges, including Technician Commitment lead, Kelly Vere, will be judging the shortlisted technicians on criteria which includes: how the nominee works with academics, students and others to build a strong working environment, and the extent to which they go beyond the day-to-day role.

Sara Bacon, manager of the National Technician Development Centre, said: “As always we are immensely proud to promote all of the achievements and success that technical staff are engaged with on a daily basis. Being part of the THE awards will raise the profile of technicians and showcase the meaningful engagement of the university’s technical community. 

“Having a category in the prestigious THE Awards dedicated to celebrating the huge contributions and achievements of all the professional technical staff working in HE is a hugely progressive move and acknowledges the role that all technical staff play in the success of universities. To see colleagues on the shortlist from our NTDC partner affiliate and HEaTED membership institutions is a proud moment.

“We look forward to hearing from the winner of the award and to also use this opportunity to celebrate all technical staff, and in particular those that were shortlisted.”

The winners across all 19 award categories will be revealed at a ceremony held in London on 17th November.

To book your place for the THE Awards, click here