THE Awards 2022 honours Technicians and HE professionals across the country

By 21st November 2022 Blog, Events, News

THE Awards 2022 was held on the 17th November and as always was a fantastic night of celebration recognising excellence across the entire spectrum of HE. This year it was hosted by the brilliant Stephen Mangan. The quality of the shortlisted nominations in all of the categories was outstanding. The Technician Commitment had again sponsored the Outstanding Technician of the Year award, ensuring the contribution made by technicians was also recognised in the same space as other contributions and initiatives in the sector  The candidates in the Outstanding Technician of the Year category were all brilliant of course, and together they demonstrated the diversity of the technician role in HE. 

“Huge congratulations to Hong Lin from the University of Reading, who was this year’s winner, well deserved indeed. Also a big well done to all the technicians shortlisted too, you are all outstanding.”

Mel Leitch, NTDC Director

Hong Lin, University of Reading.

Photo source: Times Higher Education

Outstanding Technician of the Year - Hong Lin

Hong Lin, Senior Technician in Teaching and Research at the University of Reading took home the prize of ‘Technician of the Year’. 

We are so pleased for Hong Lin and our Partner Affiliate, University of Reading, for this fantastic achievement.

Reward and recognition are vital in all areas of HE, however, we are particularly passionate about recognition for Technical staff and the vital role they play in all HE institutions.

Full list of all 2022 winners

University of the Year

Northumbria University

THE Outstanding Achievement Award

Dame Mary Beard

International Collaboration of the Year

University of York

Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Andrew Radford, University of Bristol

Highly commended: Becky Milne, University of Portsmouth

Outstanding Library Team

Lancaster University

Outstanding Estates Team

Dublin City University

Highly commended: University of Salford

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Dublin City University

Knowledge Exchange/Transfer Initiative of the Year

Middlesex University

Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year

Royal Northern College of Music

Outstanding Entrepreneurial University

London School of Economics and Political Science

Highly commended: London South Bank University

THE DataPoints Merit Award

University College Cork

Research Project of the Year: STEM

University of Reading

Outstanding Support for Students

St Mary’s University, Twickenham

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Michael Daly, RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences

Highly commended: Francesco Fornetti, University of Bristol

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Sheffield Hallam University

Highly commended: Edge Hill University

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

University of Leicester, in collaboration with the University of Foggia

Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

University of Huddersfield

Outstanding Technician of the Year

Hong Lin, University of Reading

Highly commended: James Fox-Robinson, Durham University

Business School of the Year

University of Exeter Business School

Outstanding Marketing/Communications Team

King’s College London and ZOE